The Future

Standard

Hmmm, God does everything for a reason, right?

New Years Eve is just around the corner and my friends and I had the most amazing plans, EVER! We were all stoked for it. Everyone had asked their parents about going…except me. Knowing me, I was stalling the whole asking thing because I knew that these plans would interfere with our New Years Family Tradition, watching our videos from the past year. To be honest, I don’t even know, how with my stupidity, how I even got myself to make these plans in the first place when I knew family traditions always should come first. I asked, and I got the obvious answer. “No.” Surprise? Nope, not at all. At first, I was kind of sad about it too, to know that my friends were going to have all this fun without me. I’m the type of person who likes to hide my emotions, so all I did was keep a smile on my face.

Later, my friends and I came up with another idea, that wouldn’t affect our family traditions! And guess what? …Same answer, no. It was for what I believed was the silliest reason ever, too. It was ridiculous! In fact, I walked out of the room crying.

However, somehow God made me come to a realization:

God has a plan for me, and only he has all the blueprints of it.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29:11-13.

My parents have their reason to say no. And as silly as it may sound, it’s their reason. But this is the other way I thought about it. GOD has a BIGGER reason. GOD made my parents say no for another reason that I can’t possibly think of. GOD  made my parents say no to hold my future together. My parents don’t know, but GOD does, and every little thing that happens molds my future. 

What I need to do is let God guide me. Just let him show me where to go, and keep my paths straight.

“For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end.” -Psalm 48:14

In the end, my parents agreed to having everyone over at my house. And yes, I’m super excited, it’s gonna be a blast!

But here’s the way I think of it: maybe God let this happen so I’d learn this? I’m never going to really know God’s reasoning to everything. But, I do believe everything happens for a reason. God’s reason. We might not be able to see it yet, but what we do know is that God is always with us, and that when he does something, he does it for the better. To help us. Our future has already been planned, we just gotta follow the Lord. = )  

Don’t you just love God? I do!

-S : )

Leave a Reply

