Parabless

Standard

This last weekend was VBS weekend. It was SO exciting! I got to play a character named Heidi Claire Super Sleuth Extraordinaire each session and I got to sing one day! Then on top of that I was a student. 

Every year we typically just focus on biblical stories we’ve heard throughout our childhood, and I don’t really see anything new, however this year we were lucky enough to have a couple from Chicago teach us. I’m happy to say that I have definitely learned something this VBS, and I’m going to briefly share it with you.(:

The five parables we focused on were: The Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard, The Parable of the Good Samaritan, The Parable of the Talents, The Parable of the Prodigal Son, and the Parable of Unmerciful Servant. Now I’m sure most of you guys have read these stories before, but have you read the context of why Jesus told these parables? That itself goes one direction, but the other direction I want to go is the way the servants, workers, etc. view their Father or master.

In all these stories, the father is disliked by The servants and workers. However, you come to realize that the father is really as awesome as it gets, only the workers don’t see it. (Yes, it’s in almost all those stories!)

I think so many people view our God as a cruel God, but in reality, he’s really not. He’s  the most merciful, loving, kind, graceful, compassionate, gracious God that will ever exist. We really need to acknowledge that. 

Salome

Leave a Reply

