Aside

It’s that time of year again…where everything is out of balance and it’s time to prioritize LIFE! Ha. It always happens during tennis season, but now it’s time for a refresher.

Whenever I give advice, I can be the BIGGEST HYPOCRITE EVER. In fact, I probably am the biggest hypocrite. As always, I’m still battling the struggle to balance everything and please everyone. So now, I’ll just go on with my story…

The other day, I told my friend the first person he should please are the people who care about him the most…his parents. He asked me a question in return (that I don’t even think he realized he asked because we switched topics too quickly..) , “Well, why don’t you want to please your parents?” The question remained unanswered, but a few hours later, BAM. Guess who felt like the biggest hypocrite ever?

Yes, of course I want to please my parents, but lately I’ve been placing so many other variables in the way. More than “why”, I need to ask myself “how”. I know I want to please my parents…I know I want to please everyone! But for that, compromises need to be made. And in all honesty, I’m still not sure what these compromises are.

By pleasing my parents, God will also be pleased, and I’m trying focus on that these next few days. I know God is definitely trying to teach me something… and lately it’s been hitting hard. The song “In Christ Alone” has been on mind a lot lately. If you read the lyrics, they are extremely deep. It gives me goosebumps everytime.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExnTlIM5QgE&feature=related

“For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way; bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light.” -Colossians 1:9-12

It’s That Time of Year Again..

Leave a Reply

