The Value of Happiness

Standard

I spent this weekend in Omaha…which i started out calling the “land of cows”, for my sister’s volleyball tournament. Now, I wasn’t excited. Hahaha, once I got there though, of course I learned that the “land of cows” wasn’t entirely true. I stayed in downtown Omaha, which was actually a cute place. Cute stores walking distance and everything was close by! 

I went to most of my sister’s games. I went to all of them but one! And it was so exciting to watch! My sister is a type of person who struggles within herself. I don’t know if this makes sense, but when’s she’s happy with herself, she is happy. She is very happy. And to see this true happiness is the best thing. Every time she even came close to winning a game…she had this “thulunnu” dance, which in English is like her squirming dance. When she did this cray dance, she also had this huuuuge smile on her face. And it was this happiness in her that made me want to watch her games.  

I guess what God showed me this week is that it’s worth it. It’s worth driving the 500 miles to watch my sister smile and be happy. 

“I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live.” -Ecclesiates 3:12

 As much as I didn’t want to go, it turns out, this vacation was actually not bad at all. I mean…I regret not bringing more than one pair of pants and shoes….but other than that, it was fun 🙂 It was a lot of fun. 

 

Leave a Reply

