Jared

Standard

So #PerksOfBeingInStuCO, I get to sell leftover Wish-Week T-Shirts that didn’t sell before the assembly. Now, I literally sat there monstrously telling people that they were terrible people for not supporting the wonderful cause of sending our darling child to Hawaii. I sounded like a maniac and everyone ignored me. Thankfully Isabelle (our freshman child) would scream out people’s names who acknowledged her “Hey, you’re in my spanish class! Buy a T-Shirt! friends” to buy a shirt. In the end we sold about 5 T-Shirts. Whoo! 

Hahaha. Honestly, the entire situation made me mad… until we sold the 5th T-shirt. It was a small kid who seemed to be bullied all the time. When we asked, he stopped by. He asked how much it was. $10. “Awesome”, he said, and asked for a large. Unfortunately, we only had mediums and smalls left. His response, “Aw, I’m not going to fit into those. I’m too fat.” He was being dead serious. I felt terrible. “But it’s okay, I can give it to my sister.” His sister was five. He really bought a T-shirt to support the cause 🙂 

For some reason that scene is still in my head. Of course now we know his name, Jared. 🙂 Kids like him deserve to be known. He’s an amazing kid, and made a difference. And I hope he knows that too. Jared is amazing 🙂 

One response »

  1. Update 2/2/2016: I just ran into Jared almost two years later at the candy store! He didn’t remember me, but he did tell me his sister wears the shirt. He is so great!

Leave a Reply

