Aside

My heart is heavy right now. I almost feel emotionless. In the past ten days we have had 3 suicides at my school.

I’m not going to sit here and pretend I knew them, because I didn’t. One of these students was in my athletic training class with his younger brother. All I imagine right now is his younger brother and how he’s doing right now. And his other 4+ siblings and family. Pain and sorrow. That was the closest I ever came to knowing any of them.

What these three students symbolize though is how there needs to be change. I’m getting sick of social media flaunting this idea of “Everyone a Huskie”, because those are just words. I want individuals to know they have value.  It scares me because I feel the number of friends I have suffering through depression increases each day. I wish I could tell them how much value and worth they have in not only my life, but in everyone’s life. I wish I could sit here and tell them that I come to school just to see them.

It’s easy to have words and wishes though. These have no value unless actions are taken to help achieve these.
I pray God works in the lives of all of us and helps us make a difference.

Heavy Heart

Leave a Reply

